A box of popcorn. A scream. The end.

10 05 2011

The magic of film is recreated, taken apart, examined and lovingly satirized in an unusual work of fiction. David Halliday imagines a BBC documentary about ‘the well known Canadian film maker Samuel Bremmer’. We see moments of the films themselves; we hear the words of the actors, the designers and the commentary of the director, Samuel Bremmer. The illusion of film, and how it is created against a backdrop of money problems, personality clashes, jealousies, ambitions, love and vanity.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.





Stefan Vanbroek

10 05 2011

Playground

Terrific animation from Stefan Vanbroek





Becha

10 05 2011

Becha. I am not sure if this is one person, a group, etc. But it is fun.





Judy Sadler

10 05 2011

Ms. Sadler does a simple cut and paste for her collages. They are in a traditional mode. Humor is evident. And there is no guise of invisible mending. By that I mean that she relationships between images is explicit and not hidden. One image does not flow into another. Much of my work is done the same way and I have added a couple of pieces as comparison. Her work strikes me as fairly intellectual. Pieces are well thought out. Intuition seems to have little to do with her work. I looked at her work to try and steal some visual ideas. I have to say that I haven’t been able to find any new ones. I’ll have to go back and look again.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.