Robin Chandler

22 05 2011

Some artists achieve what my professors at university called ‘a voice’. Chandler has achieved this. The work has a distinctive quality, a signature that belongs to this artist. It is “artsy”. By that I mean that it demands to be studied. When I was younger I recall many times in workshops poets/writers explaining their work. As if they had writen for the purpose of being studied in the classroom. In Chandler’s own voice. ‘Artists are concerned with the poetic treatment of that same conceptual space, only in tactile or plastic form. Using abstraction as an approach to form – human and anthropomorphic creatures, lush images of vegetation- and a color palette from highly saturated color to a black-gold/silver palette, I amassed a set of repeated forms which rush through the picture plane. My work seeks a symmetry and a depth of field through a “layering” of forms across a space-time continuum creating a “visual language”. Working with an assortment of papers-mostly handmade or imported- and testing and mixing several adhesives, the task was then to devise a logistical means for sequencing and arranging each layer of each dimension on the picture plane to create an illusion of hyperspace or depth of field.’

Having said all this, I still find Chandler’s work appealing. They are colourful, professionally done with great craftsmanship. Very painterly.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.






Wilfred Satty

22 05 2011

Satty was part of the California art scene in the 1970s. You can see it in his work. It both reflects that time and seems a prisoner of it.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.





Nigel Tomm

22 05 2011

When I was about 13, a friend and I found a shopping bag filled with magazines of naked women. As you can imagine this was Valhalla for teenage boys. But all the magazines had been soaked in weeks of rain. As we opened the magazines, the pages peeled off like skin. The ink from one page ran off onto the picture on the opposite page. Very bizarre pictures were created. This is what crossed my mind when I ran across Nigel Tomm’s work. And it completely blew me away. The images are crumpled, almost disposable. And they are very powerful.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.





Dora Riomayor

22 05 2011

Dora Mayor’s work reminds me of water colours. The pieces seem very fragile. Not all to my taste (I don’t like still life that much) but I have created work similar to this. One is below.  Below is her description of how she works.

When starting a work, I view printed matter, (such as magazines, newspapers) cut or tear out pages, with colors that appeal to me, and arrange them much like a painter’s palette. Then using my own photographs, as a reference, I use scissors, razor blades, and mat knife or tear the paper into different shapes and forms, which relate to the image I am creating.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.








Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,229 other followers