Adolf Hitler

6 07 2011

I don’t know what is so interesting about a meglomaniac and mass murderer. Perhaps some hint of his humanity. Because he was a human being. And there have been many, too many monsters like him in history. Some were not so infamous.

As a young man Hitler pursued the arts. Maybe in a different world Hitler would have become an artist. A second rate one no doubt. But then that takes in a lot of country. Most people in the arts are 2nd rate but that does not diminish their efforts. Or maybe he would have pursued some other avenue in the media. Fox News perhaps. Just kidding. I think. Maybe.

What was it that tipped the table for Hitler? I knew a fellow in high school who was not so different than Hitler. (I won’t mention his name. We’ll call him Paul. ) He was a serious young man. Had a way of reinterpreting events in history. There seemed to be some underlying anger inside him. Some unresolved quarrel with the world. (I have that myself). Paul was always in some political group. Mostly right wing. After collage Paul started several far right fanatical groups. And could be seen at a lot of neo-fascist meetings or demonstrations. I could never figure out Paul. He had never been disadvantaged. Was from an upper middle classed family. But there it was. Rage.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Actions

Information

5 responses

7 07 2011
slightlyignorant

This is a fantastic post. I agree – there’s something fascinating about mass-murdering and frightening men like Hitler. He was a boy, with parents, with a favorite toy, with music he enjoyed and pictures in his mind.

The fact that somebody who had all these things can grow up to be what Hitler became is perhaps one of the most frightening facts about human nature.

18 07 2011
wedding speeches funny

Recent Blogroll Additions……

[…]usually posts some very interesting stuff like this. If you’re new to this site[…]……

20 07 2011
Darlene Andress

Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I’ve really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

1 08 2011
ceiling fans review

Found this on Yahoo and I’m happy I did. Interesting article.

28 10 2011
upper Delaware Real Estate

Maybe Herman Cain can use this in his next campaign speech.

Leave a comment