Juan Getti

22 10 2011

I went through a period where I read a lot of Latin Amerian authors. Some famous like Borges and less known authors. Magic Realism became a fascination for me. The world of the surreal, magic, the blending of nature and urbanization. The novels fascinated me. One of my favourites was I believe called “Beat”. (I’ve got to find that book. Its in my house somewhere.) I loved how these authors twarted convention. With joy. This artist Juan Getti paints like that. And outside of the emag eclectix, I can find little else about him.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.





The Power of H

22 10 2011

Follow my evil brother’s blog. It is called The Power of H. He stole the title from me. Or was it the reverse. Left by a wicked step mother in the snow we were raised by wolves. For a long weekend. Then we were returned to our parents. In our teens we learned to drive a DeSoto. I didn’t have a date for prom night. My evil brother took our step mother. Who had already been dead for several months. I have to hand it to her. She could still cut the rug pretty good.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.





H.R. Giger

22 10 2011

I was sitting in the theatre watching the space ship approach a dark and cold planet. In some ways I wished I’d left the theatre. A monster was created before my eyes that still sends shivers down my spine. The Alien movie franchise is based on the horror of that opening scene when the astronauts are investigating that alien abandoned ship. It was H. R. Giger’s work that created this monster. A monster with no redeeming qualities. Zero. And it is relentless. Perhaps it is death itself.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And on reflection much of Giger’s work reminds me of that silent classic, Metropolis by Fritz Lang.








Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,236 other followers