ALEJANDRO MAESTRE GASTEAZI

1 10 2011

This is a wonderful artist. I was quite taken with this series he did on a fellow artist and friend. Remember the name

ALEJANDRO MAESTRE GASTEAZI

This slideshow requires JavaScript.





Charles Wish

1 10 2011

I should probably like this guy. He certainly has a fine reputation. His work is intelligent, colourful, flush with forms and ideas. They remind me in some ways of Rubens paintings. Lots of ripe oranges, breasts, apples, and geese. There’s just too much for me.  Although I didn’t care much for Rubens until I went to his house in Antwerp and was wiped out by his work. So perhaps Mr. Wish’s work is better appreciated when you see the originals.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.





Jerrold Carton

1 10 2011

I wish that I’d known this painter sooner. As young poets, artists, young men. Jerrold Carton’s work has intelligence, humour, dignity. This is a guy who knows what he’s doing. There are references to older work. Vermeer for example. They are respectful but not pretentious. I’m not sure how much acclaim Carton received during his life time. But it wasn’t enough. This guy is a wonder artist.  Unfortunately Jerrold Carton is no longer painting. He died in 2009. I’ve had my own brush with death so I know how important his kids were to him. His daughters have opened a sight to expose his work to a wider audience and hopefully to sell his work. Have a look. It’ll be good for your soul.

 

http://jerroldcarton.com/

This slideshow requires JavaScript.








Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,236 other followers