Gordon Young

17 10 2011

After getting my Master’s Degree in Philosophy I was stunned. No jobs! In philosophy! Well… back to school. I decided to be trained in the oldest trade of man… except one. Computer Typesetting. The first trade to be unionized. I could smell the big money. And then disaster. I graduated. And word processing came into existence. And virtually destroyed this wonderful trade. So you cannot imagine how shocked I was to see someone make art out of typography. Gordon Young.

Gordon Young is a visual artist who focuses on creating art for the public domain. His work ranges from sculptures to typographic pavements for places as disrelated as government headquarters and village squares.‘ That’s what it says on his sight. Really. I looked at his work. And I believe it. Though I wonder if it is as wonderful as it is made out. Now I know where hop-scotch came from. (That’s an orphan. Typographical pun. Sort of.)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Actions

Information

One response

18 10 2011
rumpydog

How cool! I especially like the wall of wishes!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,508 other followers

