William Kurelek

6 10 2011

Probably no other painter (outside Van Gogh) influenced me more than William Kurelek. His simple paintings of children playing in snow, people on farms, village life left me with the feeling that art was about the simplest things and not the most grandiose. Kurelek’s world was a highly spiritual one. He went on to paint many religious motifs. Which as a young Roman Catholic I loved. It seemed like the real religion. Much of his work reminds one of Brueghel. And I have added one of those works by the Flemish painter for comparison. Kurelek was also a nationalist and I think much of his appeal was the burgeoning Canadian identity. I do not hold Kurelek in as much affection now that I am older. His work seems quaint. And that is a curse for any artist.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

There is also a documentary here from the National Film Board on Kurelek.

http://www.nfb.ca/film/Kurelek/

Actions

Information

6 responses

10 10 2011
Erma Rosano

Hey friend can i publish some paragraph of your article on my little blog of university.I have to publish a good articles out there and i really think your post Fits best into it.I will be grateful to give you an source link as well.I have two blogs one my own and the other which is my college blog.I will publish some part in the university blog.Hope you do not mind.

10 10 2011
David Halliday

Go ahead. And good luck

19 12 2012
David Halliday

Reblogged this on power of h Weblog and commented:

My enthusiasm for Kurelek has waned as I have grown older. Perhaps because of the harm I see in conservative Catholicism. Or perhaps his ideas now appear simplistic without their childhood charm.

11 02 2013
14 05 2014
chinchillalove.webnode.com

I enjoy what you guys tend to be up too. This sort of clever work and reporting!

Keep up the fanttastic worfks guys I’ve included you
guys tto my blogroll.

14 05 2014
David Halliday

thanks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,510 other followers

