Heidi Taillefer

31 08 2011

What I have become more aware is the (I’m reluctant to call it a movement) movement of the arts into a form of mythologizing. Heidi Taillefer’s work is of this genre. I’m not saying that I don’t enjoy it.  But sometimes it seems to be telling a story but leaves you hanging. In wonderment. And puzzlement.  A kind of nothingness pervades. The metaphors, images, parables are too private to be shared. Both collage and surrealism are always under the threat of being (and I hate this expression) ‘dumb blondes’. Still what pleases the eye cannot be easily dismissed.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 





Philip Scott Johnson

31 08 2011

This is another of Philip Scott Johnson’s morphing videos. This was done for the CBS network. I don’t know why these are so fascinating. Maybe because whats interesting is what happens between faces as if there was another face stuck in there. The missing link.





Rob Eggleston

31 08 2011

Its always enjoyable to see someone’s work which is fresh and a different take on things then you are used to. Mr. Eggleston seems to be trying a lot of different things on for size. Its ‘Alive!’ That about sums his work up.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.





Jeffrey Michael Harp

31 08 2011

Ever since I started to blog about Jeffrey Michael Harp my computer has been clogging up. Like it has something against him. I’m reluctant to blame my computer. Who I call fuzzy. Or something like that. Maybe its the Victorian slant to much of Harp’s work. Or the sense of nightmare about his work. The industrial revolution. Or because he wants to be called by 3 names. Interesting work. Boring name.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.








Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,508 other followers