Najork

5 07 2011

Here’s another one of these incredible short films by Najork. Its called Kites.

Check him out at http://najork.net/





Dorothea Tanning

5 07 2011

I knew almost nothing about Dorothea Tanning. Nothing would be an exaggeration. Her work is wonderful. A surrealist who changed her style in mid-stream, she had an exceptional life. (As far as I can tell.) She was married to Max Ernst, one of my favourite artists. I’m still investigating. We’ll call it research. I think I’m just nosy.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.





Man Ray

5 07 2011

You have to love his name. His real name was Emmanuel Radnitzky. Along with Dali andMagritte (and anyone I’ve forgotten) he is one of the most important surrealists in the early 20th century. He is mostly a photographer. But he went beyond photography or at least used the photograph to reach into the world. Collages. His work is fun. He must have had a ball in Paris. Some of his models are stunningly beautiful. Here is one of my favourite quotes in art. It is from Man Ray. “I have been accused of being a joker. But the most successful art to me involves humor.”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.








Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,442 other followers