Nancy Goodman Lawrence

24 06 2011

Ms. Goodman’s works are drawings using maps as the material between the lines. In a sense the maps are matter and the lines are the way they are organized. The pictures are clever. But I think you have to see the actual pieces themselves to get the real experience. I suggest that anyone who has an opportunity to see an exhibit of her work should check it out. I don’t think they work as well on the net.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

‘My highly personal figurative collages are based on photographic portraits of family, friends and self or drawings of the model placed in whimsical settings. Maps are a huge resource for my work, less for their literal representations than the endless possibilities they offer in rendering the geography of the human body and the space it occupies.








Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,427 other followers