Breakdown (Chapter 35, Lou Grant)

18 09 2009

Chapter 35
Breakdown

Mary grabbed a tissue and sniffled.

MARY: I don’t want to talk about it, Mr. Grant.

Lou Grant sat in silence. For some time.

MARY: I just don’t want to talk about it.

Mary blew her nose in a tissue.

Lou’s stomach began to growl.

MARY: Mr. Grant. You have to…

LOU GRANT: Don’t give me that crap, Mary. You don’t come in here looking like you slept in an alley last night, rings around your eyes, eyes which are blood shot, hair in a rout, your clothes wrinkled and looking like someone dragged you through hell and tell me that you don’t want to talk about it. I don’t go for that crap and you know it, Mary. You told Rhoda you were raped.

MARY: It wasn’t real rape…

LOU GRANT: There’s more than one kind?

Mary shook her head. Lou squirmed in his chair.

LOU GRANT: Is this… date rape?

MARY: It wasn’t a date.

Lou Grant threw his arms up in the air.

LOU GRANT: Jesus! I feel like I’m on Jeopardy.

LAUGH TRACK

Mary looked up.

LOU GRANT: You were asleep?”

Mary nodded.

LOU GRANT: Let me get this right, Mary. Rhoda tells me that this guy sneaks into your room, in the middle of the night and takes you by…

MARY: We’d done it before.

Lou’s mouth fell open. He stared at Mary for a minute in shock. Mary took another tissue from the box on the desk and blew her nose. Lou cleared his throat.

MARY: I… Mr. Grant, I’m frightened of him.

LOU GRANT: Frightened!

MARY: Frightened of him. Frightened for him. I didn’t want it to be like this. It wasn’t supposed to be like this!

For several minutes the two sat in silence: Mary whimpering and wheezing, wiping at her eyes with a tissue. Lou, stared at Mary, his mouth hanging open.

LOU GRANT: Mary, what are we talking about? It doesn’t make any sense.

MARY: I… don’t know how to…

LOU GRANT: Start at the beginning, Mary.

MARY: I’ll try, Mr. Grant.

LOU GRANT: Thank you, Mary.

LAUGH TRACK

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,454 other followers

