The Battling Sisters

26 08 2008

Andrew Sisters

Andrew Sisters

I used to hate the sounds of the Andrew Sisters. When I was a kid. And they were played all the time on the radio. Much like I came to dislike Motown when I lived in Windsor across from Detroit. You can get too much of a good thing. But now I’ve come to love the Andrews sisters work. It is so catchy. Grabs you and makes you want to dance. At least in your head.The music of the Andrew Sisters reminds me of the Beatles. The early Beatles when they were playing for teenagers.

YouTube – Andrews Sisters

Shoo-Shoo Baby by The Andrews Sisters on Yahoo! Music

The Battling Sisters

June 5, 2008 by Maynard G. Krebs

Daddy was Greek. Momma was a Viking. Three little girls. Knees bopping like apples. On a tree. In the breeze. Singing at full volume. La Verne played piano at the Silent Movie Hall. In exchange for free dancing lessons. For all three sisters. Now you owe me. Won a talent contest at the Orpheum Theatre. In Minneapolis. Sweethearts of the Armed Forces Radio Service. Hits. One after two after three. Bei Mir Bist Du Schon became the favourite of the Nazis. And the inmates of the concentration camp. I can’t stand being with you all of the time. Patty married Marty. Laverne got hitched up with Little Lou. Maxene settled for Big Lou. All the girls were happy as could be. Still playing the parts of sixteen year olds. Singing songs for Wrigley’s Chewing Gum, I want to be alone, Doles’ Pineapple, I need my own career, and anything made by Franco-American. Let’s ask ma and pa. Maybe they were jealous of that bugle boy. He stayed young while they got old. Or maybe this happens to anyone who tries so hard to harmonize.

………………

Still rough stuff. The final poems are much cleaner, shorter, and I think interesting.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,443 other followers

